top of page

Yoga + The 5 Koshas: Stripping back the layers

In the practice of yoga, there are five koshas or layers that make up the human being. These koshas are known as Annamaya kosha (physical body), Pranamaya kosha (energy body), Manomaya kosha (mental body), Vijnanamaya kosha (wisdom body), and Anandamaya kosha (bliss body).

The first kosha, Annamaya kosha, is the physical body that we can see and touch. It is made up of the five elements of earth, water, fire, air, and space. The practice of asanas or physical postures in yoga helps to strengthen and balance this kosha.

The second kosha, Pranamaya kosha, is the energy body that is responsible for the flow of prana or life force energy in the body. The practice of pranayama or breathing exercises helps to balance and strengthen this kosha.

The third kosha, Manomaya kosha, is the mental body that is responsible for our thoughts, emotions, and feelings. The practice of meditation helps to calm and quiet the mind, bringing balance to this kosha.

The fourth kosha, Vijnanamaya kosha, is the wisdom body that is responsible for our intuition and inner knowing. The practice of self-reflection and self-inquiry helps to access this kosha.

The fifth and final kosha, Anandamaya kosha, is the bliss body that is responsible for our sense of interconnectedness and oneness with all beings. The practice of yoga helps to connect us to this kosha, allowing us to experience a sense of inner peace and joy.

In conclusion, the koshas in yoga represent the different layers that make up the human being. By understanding and balancing these koshas through the practice of yoga, we can achieve a sense of inner peace, harmony, and wellbeing.

97 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

In - Person Hatha Yoga Classes in Chicago, IL

bottom of page